"> Community Calendar - Evanston RoundTable - Evanston, IL

Advanced Search

Evanston RoundTable | Evanston, IL

home : community calendar : community calendar
December 15, 2017

December 2017
SuMTuWThFSa
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
To view the events on a particular day, click on a calendar date above.
Add Event
Event Information
EventKevin Coval: A People's History of Chicago
CityEvanston
PlaceBookends & Beginnings Bookstore
Address1712 Sherman Ave. Alley #1
DetailsKevin Coval is a poet and community builder. As the artistic director of Young Chicago Authors, founder of Louder Than A Bomb: The Chicago Youth Poetry Festival, and professor at the University of Illinois-Chicago—where he teaches hip-hop aesthetics—he’s mentored thousands of young writers, artists, and musicians. He is the author and editor of 10 books, and will read from his new book, A People's History of Chicago (Haymarket Books). Coval writes, “A People’s History of Chicago flips to the b-side of history in the tradition of Howard Zinn, Ida B. Wells, and other narrators who counter american terror and mainstream whitewashing. The country employs erasure to the histories of People of Color, and seeks to revise the progressive and radical history of the working class in america. I'm out to set the record straight—to remix it and dig in the crates to rescue and retell some of the best and most radical and real and celebratory and difficult parts of our Chicago story we oftentimes forget or didn't know in the first place."
Start DateThursday, May 11, 2017
Start Time6:00 PM
End Time7:30 PM
Phone7737697483
Emailevanstonlit@gmail.com
Web Addresshttp://evanstonlit.org


RoundTable Magazine


Click to View Upcoming Events
<December>
SMTWTFS
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
Submit Event







HomeVideosCommunity PostsObituariesClassifiedsAdvertiseAbout UsContact UsHow To
Copyright 2008-17 - Evanston RoundTable LLC, Evanston, IL 60202, 847-864-7741, All Rights Reserved

<meta name="google-site-verification" content="vprc-AsGnb5Z-hM7GQCARmWgj5dWLI8b1d0gQYrb0MA" />

Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved


: