Advanced Search

Evanston RoundTable | Evanston, IL

home : city news : city news June 24, 2016

4/15/2013 3:56:00 PM
Call for Nominations for 2013 Evanston Preservation and Design Awards
Submitted by the City of Evanston

The City of Evanston is currently accepting nominations for the 2013 Preservation and Design Awards from property owners, architects, contractors and residents. The annual awards program was established in 1983 by the Evanston Preservation Commission and the Preservation League of Evanston to recognize notable achievements in restoration, rehabilitation, maintenance and adaptive re­use of Evanston structures.

To reflect today's Evanston Preservation Ordinances, the categories have been updated to include:

Sensitive Addition/Alteration: a project that successfully integrated an addition/alteration within the architectural style of a main house or building and complements the context and character of a historic district, neighborhood or specific area.

Adaptive Reuse: a project that creatively achieved the reuse of an existing structure originally used for another purpose. The project must have undertaken at least substantial rehabilitation.

Appropriate New Construction: a new house, building or structure that, through its design and use of building materials, enhances the quality of the built environment. The project must have a positive impact on its immediate surroundings, including historic district, neighborhood or specific area.

Proper Rehabilitation/Restoration: a project that has closely followed the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for The Treatment of Historic Properties and its Guidelines for Preserving, Rehabilitating, Restoring and Reconstructing Buildings (landmarks and non-­landmark contributing/significant buildings citywide are eligible).

Life Achievement/Preservationist of the Year: this award is given to an individual who has demonstrated a sustained commitment to the preservation movement for the benefit of the City of Evanston through his/her work or volunteerism. This is a new category this year.

Projects must have been completed between 2008 and 2012. Recipients of the award will be notified in advance of the actual date, time and place of the 2013 Preservation and Design Awards ceremony. Nominations are due by April 30. For more information and the nomination forms, please visit or call the City of Evanston’s Senior Planner/Preservation Coordinator, Carlos Ruiz, at 3-1-1.

Article Comment Submission Form

The RoundTable welcomes your comments. We will try to post comments within a few hours, but there may be a longer delay at times. Comments containing mean-spirited, libelous or ad hominem attacks will not be posted.

Note: Your full name is required. Your telephone number and e-mail will not be posted. You may type your comments in the space below, or you may type them in a word document and cut and paste them in the space below.

Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Click to View Upcoming Events
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
Submit Event

HomeVideosCommunity PostsObituariesClassifiedsAdvertiseAbout UsContact UsRestaurantsHow To
Copyright 2008-15 - Evanston RoundTable LLC, Evanston, IL 60202, 847-864-7741, All Rights Reserved
Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved