Advanced Search

Evanston RoundTable | Evanston, IL

home : schools : schools July 26, 2017

12 to Run for School District 65 and 202 Boards
By Jennie Berkson and Larry Gavin

Six people have filed petitions to run for three open positions on the District 65 School Board in the April 5, 2011 election. Two of the six, Keith Terry and Katie Bailey, are currently on the School Board and will seek a second term. Mr. Terry is president of the Board, and Ms. Bailey chairs the Board’s Finance Committee. 

In addition, Eileen Budde, Suzanne Crawford, J.B. Rees and Richard Rykhus have filed nominating petitions to be on the ballot. Ms. Budde worked in banking for five years in New York and is an experienced math teacher. She is currently a PTA president at Nichols Middle School, and has three children in District 65. 

Ms. Crawford is a fitness professional and a personal trainer. She co-founded an alternative school, the Children’s School, in 1990 which operated for about ten years. She has one child in District 65. 

Mr. Rees is an attorney who has practiced law in Chicago since 1988. He has coached his children’s basketball and baseball teams, and he served on the school board of St. Anthanasius for one year. He has two children in District 65. 

 Mr. Rykhus is Director, Strategic Learning at Grant Thornton LLP. He is a member of the Board of Evanston CASE (Citizens for Appropriate Special Education) and has advocated on behalf of students with a disability. He has one child in School District 65. School District 202. 

Six people, including three incumbents will be running for three spots on the District 202 School Board. Of the incumbents, vice president Jane Colleton will be seeking a sixth term; Mary Wilkerson has served on the board since 1999; and Mark Metz was appointed in 2009 to replace Board Member Omar Khuri. The other candidates are Jonathan Baum, Cherie Hansen and R. Scott Rochelle. 

Mr. Baum, who served one term on the District 65 School Board, is the director of pro-bono services for Katten, Muchin and Rosenman, a law firm. Ms. Hansen, is the co-president of the Evanston Township High School PTSA. Mr. Rochelle is an attorney with Querrey and Harrow, specializing in commercial litigation, civil rights defense and school law.

Article Comment Submission Form

The RoundTable will try to post comments within a few hours, but there may be a longer delay at times. Comments containing mean-spirited, libelous or ad hominem attacks will not be posted.

Note: Your full name is required. Your telephone number and e-mail will not be posted. You may type your comments in the space below, or you may type them in a word document and cut and paste them in the space below.

Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Click to View Upcoming Events
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
Submit Event

HomeVideosCommunity PostsObituariesClassifiedsAdvertiseAbout UsContact UsHow To
Copyright 2008-17 - Evanston RoundTable LLC, Evanston, IL 60202, 847-864-7741, All Rights Reserved
Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved