Twelve ETHS seniors have been named semifinalists in two scholarship programs sponsored by the National Merit Corporation: The 10 National Merit finalists are Megan Cutrofello, Erin DeGrand, Christopher Graham, Josephinee Herman, Micah Kaufman-Wright, Aaron Nachsin, Margaret O’Leary, Sarah Raven, Duncan Reilly, and Samuel Rosen. The two National Merit semifinalists are Preston Bateman and Adrienne Slaughter.

In addition, 30 ETHS students have been named Commended Students in two scholarship programs sponsored by the National Merit Corporation: Noah Alexander, Rebecca A. Bradish, Hannah E. Burson, Samuel Carruthers, Natalie M. Cook, Taylor C. Culbert, Sylvie S. Doppelt, Joseph S. Eskin, Rebecca A. Fiori, Sylvia R. Friedman, Madeline P. Giegold, Zoe E. Goodman, Emily O. Herder, Lindsey O. Krug, Max H. Looper, Ruth A. McAuley, Solomon A. Miller, Andrew A. Pope, John G. Prout, Katherine A. Reifler, Jacob M. Roth, Mallika A. Roy, Dylan M. Shearer, Adrienne E. Slaughter, Andrew R. Sowle, Asher M. Stamell, and Brian D. Weisberg. The three National Achievement Commended Students are Joseph Carmichael, Monique Lassere, and Raquel Levy.

ETHS math teacher John Benson is the 2008 recipient of the T.E. Rine Award for outstanding secondary math teaching. This prestigious award is given annually by the Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics to one high school math teacher in the state of Illinois. Mr. Benson has taught at ETHS for 39 years.

For the first time, ETHS’s student newspaper The Evanstonian has been named a Pacemaker Finalist in the newspaper competition sponsored by the National Scholastic Press Association. The Pacemaker Award is NSPA’s highest award, considered by many to be the highest honor in scholastic journalism. Rodney Lowe and The Evanstonian staff will learn on Nov. 15 the winner of the award.

ETHS social worker Aracely Canchola received an inaugural 2008 Y-Women Leadership Award on October 2 from the YWCA Evanston/North Shore. A founder of the Evanston Coalition for Latino Resources, she is being honored for empowering Hispanic youth and her grassroots activism.

Kathy Miehls, ETHS Public/Alumni Relations Director, recently won two writing awards from the Illinois Chapter of the National School Public Relations Association. She received an Award of Merit for the brochure “Countdown to Graduation 2008” and an Award of Excellence for the Spring 2008 edition of The KIT, the ETHS alumni newsletter.