Five persons – Christopher Hawker, Andrew Pigozzi, Tracy Quattrocki, Jerome Summers and Kim Weaver – will vie for four open slots on the District 65 School Board in the April 7 election. Mr. Hawker, 2417 Ewing Ave., has three children in Lincolnwood School. He has taught biology and chemistry at Niles West High School for five years and holds a Masters in Education degree from National Louis University. Before launching a teaching career, he ran an advertising business for 20 years. Andrew Pigozzi, 1018 Elmwood Ave., has two children in Nichols school. He was appointed to serve on the School Board in October 2007, has served on the District’s Finance and Green Committees, and has worked to reduce costs and improve decision-making on school building improvements. He is an architect, with extensive experience in designing and remodeling school buildings. Tracy Quattrocki, 1220 Hinman Ave., a Dewey and Nichols parent, has served as a volunteer in the Great Author Program and other literacy programs at Dewey School and has served as president of Dewey’s PTA. She earned a doctorate degree in Renaissance Studies from the University of Maryland, and has taught Latin at Yale and other universities. Jerome Summers, 1941 Hartrey Ave., a horticulturalist, is a lifelong Evanston resident. He was elected to the School Board in 2005 and is currently the Board’s vice-president of the Board. He has chaired the Board’s Finance and Program/Policy Committees, served on the Head Start and City/School Liaison Committees, and co-founded the Green Committee. Kim Weaver, 2003 Maple Ave., has a daughter at ETHS who previously attended Lincoln and Nichols. She served on the board of the Total Child Center and on a subcommittee of the Childcare Network of Evanston. At Lincoln she served as the Legislative Chair and as the Cultural Arts Coordinator for the PTA. She is an account executive for Energy Systems Group and has worked with school districts and others in improving energy efficiency.

D202 Race Is Uncontested

Four persons – Martha Burns (incumbent), Rachel Hayman (incumbent), Deborah Graham and Gretchen Livingston – are running for four open slots on the District 202 Board. Unless someone initiates a write-in campaign, the race will be uncontested.