Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

Michelle Ney, mother of students at Dewey and Nichols schools, and Becky Zwolinski, mother of students at Oakton School and Evanston Township High School, were presented the 2009 Phyllis Ganser Outstanding PTA Voluteers of the Year award at the District 65 School Board meeting on May 18. They were selected “for their extraordinary contributions to their children’s schools and the community,” said Sue Ganser Levinson in presenting the awards.

“Michelle has been involved in a variety of capacities with Dewey’s Jane Goodall, Roots & Shoots environmental and humanitarian program. In addition Michelle designs and leads the Picture Person Projects for Dewey,” said Ms. Levinson.

“Becky was a parent through the introduction of both the TWI program and the ACC program. Becky worked hard to maintain parent unity through the introduction of both these programs.”

Other outstanding volunteers nominated this year were: Liz Cloud, Bessie Rhodes; Susan Hope Engel, King Lab; Nancy Doyle, Kingsley, Haven and ETHS; Deborah Graham, Haven and ETHS; Tim Miller, Dawes; Ellen Shwarzbach, Chute and ETHS; Sue Sowle, Dawes and ETHS; Aleca Sullivan, Washington; Rebecca Vrana-Naquin, Lincoln; and Cecelia Wallin, King Lab.

This award was established to honor the memory of Phyllis Ganser, a dedicated PTA volunteer. Each year, the award committee solicits nominees from District 65 PTAs and the District 202 PTSA who exhibit a commitment to the PTA goal of promoting the welfare of all school children, a willingness to work in any capacity (even behind the scenes), a spirit and enthusiasm for volunteer work, and a demonstrated ability to engage and involve other volunteers. Pictured above, left to right, are Keith Terry, Donna Lea Floeter, Churchill Daniels, Jr., Becky Zwolinski, Andrew Krugly, Michelle Ney, Sue Ganser Levinson, and Hardy Murphy.