Twenty-four fifth graders in School District 65 were awarded Justin Wynn Awards for their citizenship, leadership and sportsmanship at a banquet held on May 17. The 2009 Wynners are: Charles Krause and Kaitlyn Thomas – Bessie Rhodes; Greta Eanes and Seth Reynolds – Dawes; Eleanor Goes and Han-Ray Jahn- Dewey; Benjamin Easington and Elyjah Williams -King Lab; Matthew Anderson and Maddie Lee – Kingsley; Erin Bates and Jaylyn Jimenez -Lincoln; Carly Magiera and Carter Swales – Lincolnwood; Caroline Martinez and Cisco Vlahakis – Oakton; Naissa Charles and Preston Collins – Orrington; Autumn Dunlap-Milam and Christian Nielsen -Walker; Leila Lemieux-Jordan and Mia Singleton -Washington; and Thomas Fies and Aaliyah Guerrier -Willard School

Award winners are encouraged to participate in the Justin Wynn Leadership Academy (JWLA), a community service and leadership activities program. Last year’s JWLA activities included stocking, sorting and working in local soup kitchens, visiting retirement home residents, writing holiday cards to soldiers in a rehabilitation center, and volunteering at events such as the Northwestern-sponsored Special Olympics at Evanston Township High School.

The Justin Wynn Fund was started in honor of Justin Wynn who died in an accident in 1987 at the age of nine. Photo by Evanston Photographic Studios