Evanston Township High School senior Daniel Koroski has been awarded the Rensselaer Medal from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, N.Y. The medal is given to high school students who have distinguished themselves in math and science to motivate them toward careers in science, engineering and technology. The award includes a $15,000 annual scholarship for four years at Renssalaer.

Carlos Berber, an ETHS sophomore, was the ETHS awardee at the ninth annual Evanston Hispanic Achievement Awards on Sept. 30.

Last month, three ETHS athletes received the Ted Van Zelst Excellence Award from the Kiwanis Club of Evanston: Ali Gossen (volleyball), Alex Finnegan (cross country), and Jeffrey Brown (football, wrestling)

Twenty-one students from ETHS’s music program were accepted into the District 7 IMEA all-district bands, orchestra or choruses for 2009-10.

Accepted for the all-district bands are Nate Woodring (drum set in Jazz Band I), and for the Concert Band: Caitlin Flowers (clarinet), Eleanor Goerss (oboe), and Jessica Shatkin (flute). All-district chorus members from ETHS are Alex Walker, Joe Reed, Claire Sengupta, Leah Chernoff, Nick Roman, Clara Imon Pedtke, Hannah Ellison, Rosemary Walsh, and Natalie Vanderlaan. Alex Walker was also accepted for the Vocal Jazz I choir. ETHS students in the All-District Orchestra are James Hanford (1st violin), Philip Lee (cello, assistant principal), Kevin Fuller (contrabass), Eleanor Kirk (harp), Irina Iolysh (piano), Kathe Wright-Kaufman (French horn) and Syd Godfrey (violin II).

Twenty-eight ETHS seniors have been named Commended Students in two scholarship programs sponsored by the National Merit Corporation.

Commended Students in the National Achievement Program are Vanessa Claude, Jahaziel Jahzerah, and Tristan Zemtseff. Commended Students in the National Merit Program are Madeleine Alder, Patricia Andrews, David Binstock, Aaron Damashek, Hannah Ellison, Kyle Enochs, Mariah Garcia, Maire Gavagan, Amanda Gillock, Wendy Colleen Harper, Jeremy Hershey-Nexon, Hilary Hooberman, Charles Kaplan, James Leiner, Martha Levin, Mary Mathyer, Zachary Miksis, Sylvia Niemira, Lillian Novak, Ashok Raife, Jessie Salter, Max Schoenfeld, Vidur Sood, David Stillerman and William Walli.