“Transforming Fear, Welcoming Joy in the Buddhist Tradition” is the focus of a day of mindfulness on Feb. 28 at the Evanston Ecology Center, 2024 McCormick Blvd.

This day-long retreat will include meditation instruction, seated and walking meditation, plus small group discussion and a talk. Vegetarian breakfast and lunch are included.

This event is sponsored by Evanston-based Lakeside Buddha Sangha, a meditation group in the tradition of Venerable Thich Nhat Hanh, Zen Buddhist teacher and author from Vietnam who was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.  The day begins at 9 a.m. and ends at 4:30 p.m.

The cost of the event is $41.  For additional information and registration form visit, www.lakesidebuddha.org or contact Lakeside at 847-475-0080 or e-mail lisejacobson@comcast.net.

Space is limited. Please bring a sitting cushion or bench. Chairs are available.