Rep. Hamos announces eight full-tuition General Assembly Scholarships to Illinois State Universities 

State Representative Julie Hamos announced today, March 22, the availability of eight one-year full-tuition scholarships to Illinois State Universities.  The scholarships are valid for either graduate or undergraduate studies and will be awarded to residents of the 18th Legislative District who have demonstrated a commitment to community service and an interest in making positive contributions to the social, economic, cultural, and political life of the community.  A scholarship advisory committee will guide the competition. 

 Qualifications for the scholarship are:

  • Residence in the 18th Legislative District
  • Acceptance at the State University of one’s choice
  • Present and future commitment to community service. 

Applications for the scholarship are now available at local schools, community organizations, area high schools, the public libraries of Evanston, Wilmette, Winnetka, and Rogers Park, the district office of Rep. Hamos, 820 Davis St., Evanston, IL 60201.  Completed applications must be received (not postmarked) no later than 5 pm, May 21st, 2010 at the district office of Rep. Hamos.  

The scholarship does not include room and board.  

Scholarships are available for one academic year of undergraduate or graduate studies at the following State Universities:  University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana, Chicago, or Springfield; Chicago State University, Chicago; Eastern Illinois University, Charleston; Governor’s State University, Park Forest; Illinois State University, Normal; Northern Illinois University, DeKalb; Northeastern Illinois University, Chicago; Southern Illinois University, Carbondale or Edwardsville; Western Illinois University, Macomb.