Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

At the District 65 School Board’s May 3 meeting, the eve of teacher appreciation day, District 65 honored three teachers, Huong Banh, Dee Griffin and Anne McKenna. Superintendent Hardy Murphy said these teachers were selected because they received recognition from their peers. While singling out these teachers, Dr. Murphy added, “We are honoring everyone in the District 65 family.”

Ms. Banh, left, teaches English as a second language at Orrington and Lincoln schools. She is one of 16 U.S. teachers selected for a 2010 Fulbright-Hays Seminars Abroad Award. She will spend her summer in Hungary and the Czech Republic with the Fulbright-Hays Seminars Abroad Program.

Ms. Griffin, center, a teacher at Orrington School, was selected as a “woman making history” by the National Council of Negro Women, Midwest Region. In addition, she will honored by Northeastern Illinois University’s Phi Delta Cappa as the 2010 educator of the year.

Ms. McKenna, right, is a second-grade two-way immersion (TWI) teacher at Dewey School. She is a 2010 Kohl-McCormick Teacher of the Year Award Winner. She hosts Spanish Family Reading Night and leads professional development activities in the District.