Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

For the 7th consecutive year, The Evanstonian received a first-place rating by the American Scholar Press Association. In addition, for the 2nd straight year, the newspaper also received a “special merit” award, putting it among the elite of high school newspapers. Of the 200+ newspapers in this year’s contest only 3 percent received this designation for outstanding design and content. –

In addition, the Northern Illinois School Press Association awarded The Evanstonian a silver certificate. Seven blue ribbons went to Carolynn Pelletier and Max Schoenfeld for newswriting; Claire Anderson, Danny Goodman and Max Schoenfeld for editorial writing; Lanie Berk for entertainment writing, and Erika Freihofer for photography.

Five honorable mentions went to Claire Aichholzer, Sara Blumenthal, Meredith Newman and Casey Digan for team in-depth and Max Metzler for editorial cartoon.
ETHS senior William Wallis received one of the top scores in the Boston University Latin Scholarship Competition and has been awarded the Palma Aurea for the 2010-11 academic year. This distinction carries with it a full-tuition scholarship to Boston University, which recognizes his outstanding academic and extracurricular credentials.

Cristina Cortesi, student assistance program coordinator, announced that the Strength in Numbers Committee, which recently applied for a grant from the Cebrin Goodman Foundation, has been awarded $5,000 per year for the next three years for a total of $15,000. This money will be used to fund prevention work throughout ETHS.

Maddie Burkhart recently won first place in the painting category at the Best of the Best LISA Show held at the Thompson Center in Chicago. She won a $1,000 scholarship to any institution of her choice. Her work was chosen the winner out of 135 paintings from 27 area high schools.

Two ETHS students each received $10,000 scholarships from the Lovie and MaryAnne Smith Scholarship Foundation. ETHS winners are Jessica Williams, who will attend Howard University, and Dujon Smith, who will be attending Pepperdine University.