On Sunday, May 16, 2010, a unique and talented group of students and their families gathered for the Justin Wynn Fund Awards Banquet. Each spring, the Justin Wynn Fund honors two fourth graders selected by the teaching staff from each of District 65’s twelve elementary schools. Approximately 300 supporters attend the celebration. New and past honorees have the opportunity to join the Justin Wynn Leadership Academy (JWLA), a unique educational program that provides leadership and community service activities for Wynners from the fourth through twelfth grade.

The 2010 “Wynners” are:

Bessie Rhodes Magnet School – Anne Terezia Hruska, Virginia Jenna Kent; Dawes Elementary School – Leah Goetz, Joshua Magno; Dewey Elementary School – Julia Wallace, Julian Woods; King Lab Magnet School – Davis Patterson, Nialie Pompilus; Kingsley Elementary School – Kathryn Campbell, Jay Moore; Lincoln Elementary School – Katerra Jones, Lucy Mulvihill; Lincolnwood Elementary School – Joey Fitzgerald, Adam Geibel; Oakton Elementary School – Marquis Taylor, Alejandro Perez; Orrington Elementary School – Maggie Sereika, Harrison Witt; Walker Elementary School – Brianna Nielsen, Hezekiah Jenkins; Washington Elementary School – Giovanni Almanza, Mya Clark-Cooley; Willard Elementary School – Emma Estberg, Cole Dunkelbarger.

The event celebrates and honors youth leaders of Evanston. The fund was started when Justin Wynn died in an accident in 1987 at the age of nine. Justin exemplified the qualities of leadership, citizenship, and sportsmanship. Though he was a well-rounded person and an all-sport athlete, Justin had a special love for soccer. Justin demonstrated that many of Evanston’s youth are already leaders in the community. He inspired others to sustain young leaders, to develop their talents, and to provide opportunities to share with others.