Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

Nominations for the 2010 Design Evanston Awards are now being accepted by Evanston’s not-for-profit design advocacy organization from members of the design community and the general public.

A nomination form and explanation of award categories can be downloaded from the Design Evanston website at:

Digital photographs of the nominated projects must accompany the completed nomination form and should be sent by e-mail to Design Evanston Awards chairman, Laura Saviano.

Nominated projects should have been initiated within the last two to three years and have been completed by the time of the nomination (except 25-year category nominations).

Sustainable (“green”) designs will be considered in all categories, which include the following: Architectural, New Construction, Rehabilitation/Renovation, Additions, Single-family Residential, Multi-family Housing, Commercial/Retail, and Institutional Industrial Mixed Use, Interior Design, Landscape Design, Urban Design/Planning, Graphic/Signage Design, Merchandising Design, and 25-Year Award (maintenance and preservation of structures of interest at least 25 years old).

Chicago architect Jackie Koo has agreed to be guest juror for the competition. Design Evanston member/jurors are Len Koroski, Scott Mehaffey, John Myefski and Pat Natkte.

The deadline for nominations is Aug. 28. Judging will take place on Sept. 11. The awards program is scheduled for mid-October.