Evanston Township High School and its Alumni Association honored four graduates with the Distinguished Alumni Award on Dec. 6th, 2010 at an assembly for the ETHS senior class and at a dinner for the community. This was the ninth class to receive this recognition.

The annual program was established to honor alumni who graduated from or attended ETHS at least 10 years ago, noted in their fields of endeavor and/or recognized for expertise and good works by their peers and others. John Donohue, ’54, has served as committee chairman since the program’s inception.

Distinguished Alumni Award winners:

Barbara A. Boyd, 1947 – First African American woman to anchor a news show in Indiana. Retired in 1994 after 25 years as reporter/anchor for WRTV-6. Currently active with March of Dimes, Y-Me Breast Cancer fundraising efforts.

Dr. George Bridgeforth, 1972 – Radiology trauma specialist, known for his service to the disadvantaged. Decorated hero of the Chicago Police Dept.

Edward Doucette, 1955 – Internationally acclaimed sports broadcaster – almost 30 years with NBA teams. Founder of the MAAC Fund – (Midwest Athletes Against Childhood Cancer).

George Weisz, 1969 – Former state legislator of Arizona. Designated a community hero by United Way, named Investigator of the Year for work as Attorney General’s special agent for investigating organized crime.

A selection committee of alumni, students, community and current and retired ETHS faculty evaluate nominations and choose recipients. All nominations are kept on file and reconsidered for three years.