Retiring School District 202 Board member Mary Wilkerson and NAACP president George Mitchell pose with colleagues and honorees Alliyah Rumboldt-Lemond, Allison Slaughter and Braden Adamson-Tate.

The 13th annual African American Achievement Awards ceremony was held on Feb. 25 at Evanston Township High School. The program recognizes the accomplishments of African American youth who have excelled in one of the following categories: character, leadership, civility, scholarship, community service and sportsmanship.

This year’s awardees are: Tiera Adams (Kingsley), Braden Adamson-Tate (Willard), Brittany Lynn Bishop (Nichols), Jaydon Brown (Lincoln), Larenz Brown (Nichols), Maxandra Cadet (ETHS), Brianna Charles (Walker), Adam Collins (ETHS), Sharmir Cullens (Walker), Drew Dawkins (Lincolnwood), Jonathan Denose (ETHS), Isaac Diop (Washington), Tafari Dixon (Haven), Michelle Foster (Chute), Harrington Gibson III (Kingsley), Lauren Gilbert (ETHS), Isaiah Harlan-Ricketts (Dawes), Alexia Harvey (King Lab), Brittney Henderson (Dawes), Tianna Henry (Washington), Tiara Jackson (Willard), Keira Johnson (Dewey), Shantel Jones (Lincoln), Alexis Kumbwa (ETHS), Vladimir Lauture (Orrington), Jonathan Noel (Oakton), Jonysha Perrin (ETHS), Aaron Potts (ETHS), Chimere Riley-Garrett (Oakton), Brandon Ruffin (Bessie Rhodes), Alliyah Rumboldt-Lemond (Orrington), Jonathan Senecal (Chute), Allison Slaughter (ETHS), Bryanna Smith (Lincolnwood), Kaitlyn Thomas (Bessie Rhodes), Jonathan Wilburn (Dewey), Keiann Williams (Haven), Trevor Zemtseff (King Lab).

The program is sponsored by First Bank and Trust, Family Focus Evanston, McGaw YMCA, Northwestern University and the NAACP, in conjunction with Districts 65 and 202.