They are pictured, left to right, front row: DanYale Locke, Nicole Jones, Chantel Washington, Brianna Ransom, Simone Teamer, Sage Siler, a representative for Tilly-Ana Ceriser and Nicole Cruz; back row, left to right, are Elrick Thompson. Marcus Miller Jr., Matias Orbea, Cynja Valci and Jeremy Rielley. Bethany Mullins is not pictured.Photo Courtesy of Cherry Foundation.

Warren Cherry was a charismatic and influential Evanston educator and community leader whose dedication to enriching the lives of children earned him the respect and love of the many students, teachers, parents and community members whose lives he touched.

After his untimely death in 1990, admirers determined to keep his legacy alive came together to create the Warren W. “Billy” Cherry Scholarship Fund. The fund provides financial assistance for ETHS graduates who wish to pursue an associate’s, bachelor’s or graduate degree in education or youth work. 

The names of the 2011 Warren Cherry Memorial Scholarship winners were announced at the recent annual dinner.