2011 Wynners at the annual banquet at the Hilton Orrington Hotel. Photo courtesy of Evanston Photgraphic Studio.

Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

On May 15, the Justin Wynn Fund honored this year’s new “Wynners” at the annual banquet held at the Hilton Orrington Hotel in Evanston. Two fourth-graders from each of District 65’s 12 elementary schools joined the ranks of Wynners, who, for the past 24 years, have been dedicated to improving their community, one service project at a time.

Each honoree may choose to participate in the Justin Wynn Leadership Academy, which partners with many organizations around the City, including A Just Harvest Soup Kitchen, Family Focus, Hilda’s Place, The Chicago Lighthouse, Albany Care, Evanston Animal Shelter and King Home. The JWF also held its annual JWF Benefit Celebration at Prairie Moon in Evanston on May 21. The proceeds will help fund many projects that touch the lives of people throughout the community. 

The 2011 Wynners are: Bessie Rhodes School – Mollie Hartenstein, Claudia Steinke; Dawes School – Emilie Lynn Amadi and Ulysses Alva Canchola; Dewey School – Kathlyn Etyem and Maggie Westover; King Lab School – Joshua Coveliers and Dhruva Mohnalkar; Kingsley School – Callie Benson-Williams and Maxwell Honzel; Lincoln School – Amanda Moore and Jeremy Pippenger; Lincolnwood School – Troy Gallimore and Katrina McGuire; Oakton School – India Glover and Isaac Urow; Annabelle Hedges and Luke Jensen; Walker School – Grace Prendergast and Christopher Wolfe; Washington School – Lia Kelly and Leonardo Tamayo; Willard School – Christopher Gottardi-Littell and Ryan Oakley.

More information about JWF can be found at www.wynners.org and  JWF on Facebook.