Ellen Galland, left, and Marian Tweedie of Rockwell Associates received the Mary Perkins award for excellence for their Homes That Work project on Lake Street and Ashland Avenue.

Observing Preservation Week, the City’s Preservation Commission honored 12 projects that entailed the rehab, restoration, alteration, re-use or construction of or the addition to a property within Evanston. Gary Shumaker chair of the City’s Preservation Commission, said preservation is “not living in the past, but planning for the future … Old is the new ‘green.’”

Proper Rehabilitation

An award for proper rehabilitation/alteration went to the taxpayers of Evanston and their City headquarters, the Lorraine H. Morton Civic Center, for replacing the roof and balustrades, restoring cornices and installing new copper gutters. Jury members – architects Roderick S. Winn, Leonard Koroski and Nicole Egan Ducar – said it was “great to see the City investment in this building; … [it is] a high-caliber renovation/restoration [and we are] looking forward to the City’s continuing this level of stewardship.” Anne McGuire and Isamu Kimura of McGuire, Igleski and Associates, Inc., were the architects and Rich Bartuce of GA Johnson was the general contractor.

Proper Rehabilitation/Rehab

Awards for proper rehabilitation/restoration were given for the comprehensive restoration of the exterior façades, among other things, at 1143 Forest Ave.; for the restoration of original wood windows at 1702 Chicago Ave. Michael Low is the owner of 1143 Forest Ave. property; Neal Vogel of Restoric, LLC was the consultant and the contractor was Marek Chlopecki of Marek-Wizard Construction. The property at 1702 Chicago Ave. is owned by the Woman’s Club of Evanston. The architects were Anne McGuire and Danielle Euer of McGuire, Igleski and Associates, Inc.; and the contractors were Paul Birkett of History Construction and Bruce Hildner with Jonathan McKnight of McKnight & Partners, Inc.

Adaptive Re-Use

Architects/builders John Leineweber and Muffy McAuley of Renew Management and Renaissance Builders were honored for their adaptive re-use of 1601, 1607 and 1611 Simpson Street, and for 1228 Florence Ave. The Simpson Street work, said the jury, “added vitality to the neighborhood” and showed a “creative use of materials, incorporating artist work.” On Florence Avenue – a “special neighborhood with an eclectic urban quality – the project adds another layer of artistic quality to the neighborhood.” Kiril Mirintchev of Studio VIM was the architect and Evanston Renaissance Realty was the contractor.

Sensitive Addition

Awards for sensitive additions were given for the second-story addition at 2448 Lincolnwood Drive, owned by Mark Tendam and Neil Moglin; for 1334 Hinman Ave, owned by Russell Lane and Nina Donnelly.; 2305 Hartrey Ave., owned by Tom and Ellen Cushing; 721 University Place, owned by Northwestern University with Western Golf Association; and 2205 Sherman Ave., owned by Charles Plumb and Mary Kay Conlon.

Brian Goehle of Rugo Raff Architect was the architect and Donowitz Construction the contractor on the Lincolnwood Drive addition. Stuart Cohen and Julie Hacker were the architects and Steve Sturm or Sturm Builders the contractor for the Hinman Avenue addition. Kipnis of Nathan Kipnis Architects was the architect and Bruce Hildner with Jonathan McKnight of McKnight & Partners, Inc., was the contractor for the Hartrey Avenue addition.

For the addition on the University Place property, an Evanston landmark, the architect was Homan Wong of Panto Ulema Architects, and the contractor was Philip Robertson of Bulley & Andrews. The property at 2205 Sherman Ave. lies in the Northeast Evanston Historic District. Cinda Jo Berry of CJB Associates, Inc. was the designer, with hardscape and landscape by Bonnie Ford & Associates; the contractor was Bill Hurt of WL Hurt Construction.

Mary Perkins Awards for Excellence

The Mary Perkins awards for excellence in preservation was given for the “comprehensive interior renovation, restoration of interior historic space and exterior restoration and a new garden level” of Harris Hall on the Northwestern University campus. The architect was Dan Weese of Weese Langley Weese, and the contractors were Don McDougal and Anthony Douglas of Turner Construction.

The project at 1461-67 Ashland Ave., owned by Tom Engel and John Cunningham also received the Mary Perkins award for new construction/preservation. The seven live/work townhomes were designed by architect Ellen Galland and associate Marian Tweedie of Rockwell Associates Architecture and Planning. Owner Mr. Engel was also the contractor. The jury said, “Thoughtful, creative site-planning created a transition between two different neighborhoods. … There is a nice breakdown of inside and outside space, public and private.”