Maday: EBSA Major League Champions 2011 Photos courtesy of EBSA

Evanston Baseball and Softball Association (EBSA) held championship tournaments sponsored by Northwestern Athletics for its Middle (20 teams of 3rd-and-4th graders) and Major (16 teams of 5th-and- 6th graders) Leagues. 

The Middle League championship game featured teams sponsored by Andy’s Frozen Custard and Dempster Auto Rebuilders. The game was a defensive duel won by Dempster Auto, 3-1 over six innings. 

Players on the Andy’s Frozen Custard team were Baker Boutross, Nolan Clarke, Emmett Coutre, Haley Krause, Patrick Lyons, Cameron Mulvihill, Louie Ortegon, Alex Owens, Noah Rosenberg, Malik Ross, Paul Seong, Ben Teeter and Oscar Underberg. The team was coached by Greg Clarke, Bill Owens, Andrew Krause and Jimmy Boutross.

The Dempster Auto team players were Anthony Adams, Will Bellios, Jake Blustein, Sawyer Brown, Julian Granzetto, Cole Hawker, Joe Leibforth, Jack McConkey, Isaiah Rodgers, Ryan Schreder, Jack Sload, Andrew Smart and Robert Wright.  Coaches are Peter Sload, Dale Leibforth, and Nick Bellios.

The Major League championship game was between Mesirow and Maday, who won the game 4-3 in extra innings.

The Mesirow team players were Mattias Amezquita- Fox, Amy Badr, Nathan Gavelek, Matthew Hall, Matthew Hunt, Charlie Krause, Tony LoVerdi,
Tristan Strejc, Isaiah Taylor, Ryan TerMolen, Julian Villegas and Tyler Young.
The coaches were Greg Gavelek, David Hunt, Damien Frazier and Kurt Rittenburg.

The players on the Maday team were Matthew Anderson, Ian Baker, Joe Blanchard, Tim Brewer, Zach Clark, Jake Cvetas, Henry Haracz, Nick Ingraffia, Cam MacEwen, Jacob Marquez, Xavi Rivera and Lucas Verrilli. The coaches were Pete Anderson, Bill Blanchard, Jack Blanchard and Chuck Frank.