Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

The Evanston Environmental Association (EEA) will hold its 2011 Annual Membership Meeting from 3:00 to 4:00 p.m. on Sunday, December 4, 2011 at the Evanston Ecology Center, 2024 McCormick Blvd. The meeting is open to the public.

This meeting marks the end of organization’s 38th year, making it Evanston’s oldest environmental organization. The keynote speaker is Sara Schastok, President and CEO of the Evanston Community Foundation. Her presentation is titled, “Evanston’s Future: How Viable? How Sustainable?”.

Awards for outstanding environmental service and volunteerism also will be presented at the meeting. Linda Lutz, former director of the Ecology Center and past President of the EEA, will receive the 2011 Charlotte Omohundro Environmental Service Award. The City of Evanston’s Ladd Arboretum Committee will receive the 2011 Ecology Center Volunteer of the Year Award. Finally, the 2011 Ecology Center Critter Crew Award will go to Oliver Vickman for his “tireless care of the wide assortment of ‘critters’ currently housed at the Ecology Center.”

A reception featuring entertainment, hors d’oeurvres and beverages will follow the meeting. Additional information is available at the EEA website or by calling the Ecology Center at 847-448-8256.