Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

Elizabeth Griffin (Bessie Rhodes), Kendra Williams (Bessie Rhodes), Anne McKenna (Dewey), and Barbara Ulrich (Chute) recently attained National Board certification, and Maeve Gernstetter (Lincoln) successfully renewed her 10-year National Board certification. There are now 18 National Board Certified teachers in District 65.

 The newest National Board-certified teachers at Evanston Township High School are Clare Delgado (world languages), Gary Haller (career and technical education), and Ganae McAlpin-Toney (history/social science). They join 14 other ETHS teachers in earning the teaching profession’s most respected credential.  As part of the rigorous evaluation process, candidates complete assessments that are reviewed by trained teachers in their certificate areas. The assessments include portfolio entries that feature teaching practice and constructed response exercises that assess content knowledge. 

The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) was established in 1987. Participation and completion in this certification process is voluntary and offered across a number of subject areas and developmental levels. Teachers who participate often describe the experience as their most important and best professional development. The certification process requires the teacher to demonstrate mastery of standards through portfolio, writing assessment, video of their classroom teaching and the submission of student work. The process takes between 200 and 400 hours to complete and only about half of all candidates are certified on their first attempt.