Pictured above are: Derek Hunter, Justin Hadley, ETHS District 202 Superintendent Eric Witherspoon, Brittanie Giroux, Jessica Cooper, Martez Brown, Adonis Dees, Charity Williams, and Evanston Township High School Assistant Superintendent/ Principal Oscar Hawthorne. Photo courtesy of ETHS.

Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

The 14th annual African American Achievement Awards ceremony was held on Feb. 24 at Evanston Township High Scool. The program recognizes the accomplishments of African American youth who have excelled in one of the following categories: character, leadership, civility, scholarship, community service and sportsmanship.

The Awards theme was “Honoring the Past – Inspiring the Future.” Thirty-eight students from District 65 schools and ETHS were recognized. Bennett Johnson received the Trailblazer Award.

The honorees are as follows:

Amir Abdullah, Samuel Andrews, Babajide Bambgose, Calista Benson-Williams, Jaires Berry, Martez Brown, Dessalines Chimurenga, Jessica Cooper, Joseph Davis, Adonis Dees, Nathan Easington, Jamilah Fanfan, Izequiel Freitas, Brittanie Giroux, Whitney Giroux, Dominique Gulley, Malachi Hadaway, Justin Hadley, Gabrielle K. Horton, Rebecca Hunt, Derek Hunter, Isaac Hunter, David Hunter Smith, Meadgine Ilmet, Ashley Jenkins, Darius R. Johnson, Mariah Lee, Cion Miller-Smith, Oluwaseyi Olonilua, Bria Patrick, Imani Ryan, Dailen Sudduth, Mikaela Teowratanakul, Cherese Waight, Brianna Williams, Charity Williams, Myann Williams, Nia B. Williams.