Winners in the 34th annual Jo-Anne Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Awards winners are listed below.

Elementary School, all from Evanston schools

First Place, “I Am” by Nico Wertheimer

Second Place, “Simile” by Jamie Lauderbaugh

Third Place, “I Am” by Mindy Andrade

Honorable Mentions: “Basketball” by Vanessa Lopez; “Marathon Mom” by Teagan Hueneke; “Soccer” by Fernando Esteban; and “Weeding with MJ” by Damian Franchere

Middle School, all from Evanston schools

First Place, “Dictionary Demarcation” by Aela Morris

Second Place, “Kabuli Runner” byy Chirasree Mandal

Third Place, “The Black Cat” by Stella Davis-Perney

Honorable Mentions: “Nature Is Alive” by Anne Raspe; “Perspective” by Anne Umbanhowar; “Tropical Dance” by Yngride Jean-Philippe; “The Voyager” by Chirasree Mandal;

High School

First Place, “Seamingly” by Moriah Weiss Foronda (Evanston Township High School)

Second Place, “What My Grandpa Taught Me” by Sara Fasching (Buffalo Grove High School)

Third Place, “But It Is” by Megan O’Donovan (BGHS)

Honorable Mentions: “1933” by Zoe Johannsen (ETHS); “Size 3” by Kyndall Jones (Oak Park and River Forest      High School); “Springtime” by Chris Racz (BGHS); “Wonderful Day” by Kent Keller (St. Ignatius)

  First Place, “According to Goldilocks” by Wilda Morris (Bolingbrook)

Second Place, “the formica table” by Marcia J. Pradzinski (Skokie)

Third Place “Eddie Hernandez Is Dead” by Lorna Yablon (Northbrook)

Honorable Mentions: “Ferry’s Favorite Things” by  Minna Zhou (Evanston); “Local” by Margaret J. Nelson (Evanston); “Swan” by Anne Gavitt (Evanston)