The 48th Annual Freedom Fund Banquet, “Your Power, Your Decision Vote,” sponsored by the Evanston/North Shore Branch of the NAACP will be held at the Hilton Orrington Hotel, 1710 Orrington Ave., at 6 p.m. on Oct. 26. The keynote speaker will be Leon Russell, vice-chairman of the NAACP National Board of Directors.

The local branch of the NAACP will award eight community service citations at the banquet. Each year, the awards are given to noteworthy members of the larger community whose contributions advance civil rights and justice, education, promote wellbeing or provide significant service to others.

This year’s recipients are: Hardy Murphy, Bernice Weissbourd, Jernome Smith, Toni Rogers, Christine Farraro, Leslie Wilson, Evanston Community Foundation and Ken Rogers

Tickets are $100. More information is available by contacting Gerri Sizemore, 847-677-7869, John Fuller, 773-443-1522, or the branch office,