Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

The National Merit Scholarship Company (NMSC) annually recognizes U.S. high school students who demonstrate definitive marks of academic excellence. Twelve ETHS students were named 2013 semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship competition. In addition, 31 seniors have been named Commended Students and Outstanding Participants in the National Achievement and National Merit Scholarship competitions.

The following ETHS students have been recognized for the 2012-13 school year:
National Merit Semifinalists: Connor S. Brennan, Emma R. Cohen, Margaret M. Davies, Anna D. Kanter, Elsa P. Lachman, Katherine J. Latimer, Liam P. Lundy, Allison J. Managlia, Caroline E. McFadden, Rosa G. Novak, Sarah M. Posner, Kim Myro Santos, Dina C. Sinclair.  
National Merit Commended Students: Christina R. Burt, Xena G. Becker, Olivia S. Chandrasekhar, Eliana R. Chavkin, Gabriel S. Cohen, Lena E. Eskin, Laura G. Goetz, Katherine R. Greenberg, Jeremy H. Gross, Matthew G. Hodak, Lily Hullinger, David W. Hutchison, Lora C. Kelley, Jessie E. Kennedy, David P. McDonald, Sam K. Miller, Daniel J. Mills, Giacomo J. Novelli, Justin Pituch, Emma C. Robertson, Austin W. Schilling, Ellen D. Schneider, Adina Spertus-Melhus, Quinn V. Thoren, Peter Wallis, Adin Warner-Rosen, Kathryn A. Waymack, Warren N. Weber.

National Achievement Outstanding Participants: Grant C. Colbert, Joshua C. Easington, Camille L. Murray.

National Merit semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, include the highest scoring entrants in each state. Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships.