Evanston Township High School’s Debate Team has had a number of notable victories this season and continues to compete in higher level tournaments.

ETHS juniors Aaron Clarke and Ben Moberly qualified this month to the National Speech & Debate Tournament held by the National Forensic League. Aaron qualified in U.S. Extemporaneous Speaking; Ben qualified in International Extemporaneous Speaking. To qualify, they each had to finish in the top three in their district. They will compete in June among more than 3,000 students from across the country at the national tournament in Alabama.

Also this month, sophomores Joey Erwin and Kevin Klyman and junior James Long all won junior varsity championships at the Illinois Communication and Theatre Association (ICTA) State Debate Tournament. Students in the junior varsity division must be in their first or second year of competition. Joey won the state title in Congressional Debate; Kevin and James won the state title in Public Forum Debate, defeating top competitors in eliminations rounds, including New Trier (defending state champs) and Carl Sandburg High School (state champs from 2011). These are ETHS’s first state titles at any level in Congressional Debate and Public Forum Debate. ETHS sophomores Eric Weine and Joey Schnide finished in the top 10 in Lincoln Douglas debate in the junior varsity and novice divisions, respectively.