Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

The winners in the 2013 Joanne Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Award Winners have been selected. The public was invited to the award ceremony on April 21 at the Main Library, 1703 Orrington Ave. Poet Bruce Guernsey, who judged the entries, spoke and read from his work.

“Poetry is a very special art form that connects hearts and minds. To be surrounded by so many talented poets of all ages will make for an inspiring afternoon at the library,” said EPL Director Karen Danczak Lyons.

The winning poems were chosen from submissions that include Evanston residents of elementary and middle-school age as well as high school and adults entrants from the wider Chicago area.

First-prize winner in the high school category is
Jenny Kulb, a student at Evanston Township High School. She said, “It is an honor to be recognized for doing something that I have such immense passion for, and I am very grateful not only for this opportunity to share my work but for those in my life who encourage and inspire me to do so.”

Elementary School Winners:

First Place: “Troy’s Wild Hair” by Katherine Koeppen, King Lab School. She also won second place with “My Garden.” Third Place: “What Is Blue?” by Catherine Reed, Orrington Elementary School

Honorable Mention: “Summer” by Kate Hjorth, St. Athanasius School; “The Old Little Town” by Anika Velasco, Willard Elementary School; “Sounds of Peace,” by Anika Kaushikkar, Baker Demonstration School

Middle School Winners:

First Place: “Origin” by Annie Umbanhowar, Haven Middle School

Second Place: “Two Cats” by Stella Davis-Perney, Homeschool

Third Place: “Home” by Annie Umbanhowar, Haven Middle School

Honorable Mention: “Society” by Margot Connor, Pope John XXIII School; “Dream” by Nathan (JJ) Shankar, Haven Middle School; “White Bed” by Zinnia Schwartz, Baker Demonstration School

High School Winners:

First Place: “A poem for someone” by Jenny Kulb, Evanston Township High School

The names of the adult winners are posted on line at