Photo by Evanston Photographic Studios

Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

Each spring, the Justin Wynn Fund honors two fourth-graders from each of District 65’s 12 elementary schools. On May 5, the following 2013 Justin Wynners were honored at an awards banquet: Bessie Rhodes: Alexander Byrnes and Jamar Smith, Dawes; Aiden Goodman and Maya Rosenfeld, Dewey; Lucy Gallun and Michael Lichtfuss, King Lab; Carmiya Bady and Nora Miller, Kingsley; Cyrus Geary and Josie McCartney, Lincoln; Charlie Fox and Finn Stover, Lincolnwood; Jahnese Adams and Frederick Eberhart, Oakton; Agustina Arce and Tyreke Beverly, Orrington; Aidan O’Hare and Ashley Ruder, Walker; Jared McCrary and Padmalya Supangkat, Washingto; Olive Ashebrook Cantor and Alexander Johnson, Willard; Natalie Long and Anthony Sayles. The Justin Wynn Fund helps the Wynners develop leadership skills and a deep sense of responsibility for improving their communities. As members of the Justin Wynn Leadership Academy, they will participate in community service projects and cultivate relationships with their peers, mentors and the broader Evanston community. The Fund was created in 1987, when Justin Wynn died in an accident at the age of 9. Though just beginning his life, Justin exemplified the qualities of leadership, citizenship and sportsmanship.