Susan Trieschmann, founder of Curt’s Café, will receive the Corinne Passage Spirit of Evansston Award at the Sept. 17 Mashup.

Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

The annual mashup is not quite a business meeting, not quite a networking event but an opportunity for Evanstonians in government, business, arts and education to mix, mingle and mash it up.

Under a moonlit sky on the shores of Lake Michigan, guests will enjoy music, food and conversation Sept. 17, with a lineup that includes the Northwestern University  and Evanston Township High School cheerleaders and live music from S.P.A.C.E.

Those who attend are advised to “Expect the unexpected at the MashUp.”

With more than 80 hosts from all sectors of Evanston, the evening also spotlights the Catalyst Award presented by Mayor Elizabeth Tisdahl and Northwestern president Morton Schapiro.  

The Catalyst Award shines a spotlight on the extraordinary service provided by  Evanston Fire and Life Safety Services to the City of Evanston – individuals, hospitals, businesses and the university.

 “We are very fortunate and grateful to live in a community where the services provided by the Fire  Department indicate a level of professionalism and compassion for  those they serve,” said Lucile Krasnow, special assistant for Community Relations at Northwestern University and a co-chair of the event.

Mayor Elizabeth Tisdahl and Dr. Jim Phillips, vice president and director of athletics at Northwestern University, will present the Catalyst Award. Terry Maday of Maday Productions, has created a video showcasing the Evanston Fire Department.

In addition, the Corrine Passage Spirit of Evanston Award honors an Evanstonian who  has performed outstanding  service to the  community or an  individual.  The award honors the memory of the late Ms. Passage of Pivot Point International.  Ms. Passage was one of the original founders of the MashUp.

Susan Trieschmann, the founder of Curt’s Café, who guides and educates her young employees to become valued members of the restaurant and broader community, will be recognized with the Corrine Passage Spirit of Evanston award. 

For the first time, this year’s Corrine Passage Spirit of Evanston award solicited input from the full Evanston community.