The National Merit Scholarship Company (NMSC) annually recognizes U.S. high school students who demonstrate definitive marks of academic excellence. Eight ETHS students were named 2014 semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Competition, and two students were named 2014 semifinalists in the National Achievement Scholarship Competition.

The following ETHS seniors have been recognized by the NMSC:

National Merit Semifinalists: Emmanuel R. Dallas, Joshua E. Davidoff, Zachary B. Favakeh, Henry C. Magnuson, Rebecca E. Posner, Anne E. Winter, Nathan J. Shelly and Talia E. Weiss

National Achievement Semifinalists: Jonathan V. Denose and Taylor M. Sims

Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 440 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

For more information about the National Merit Scholarship Program, visit the NMSC website at