Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

The Illinois High School Association (IHSA) held its state debate championship events March 20-22 in Springfield, with students from Evanston Township High School entering events in all four debate divisions (Congressional, Policy, Public Form Debate, and Lincoln-Douglas). In Lincoln-Douglas debate, ETHS junior Joey Schnide captured Evanston’s seventh all-time state debate championship (and first since 2004.

ETHS debate coach Jeff Hannan stated, “It was an unbelievable end to our local season.” He congratulated all team members including Aaron Clarke, Joey Erwin, MD Shelton, Khalladi Taylor, James Long and Russell Fillmore-Brady, Kevin Klyman, Graham Straus, and Eric Weine for their successes and contributions to the team.