Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

The 2014 Evanston Preservation and Design Awards were announced at the May 27 City Council meeting. The annual awards program was established in 1983 by the Evanston Preservation Commission and the Preservation League of Evanston to recognize notable achievements in restoration, rehabilitation, maintenance and adaptive re-use of Evanston structures.

This year’s awards were given for the following projects, completed between 2009 and 2013:

Award for Life Achievement/Preservationist of the Year: Donald J. Terras, Director of the Lighthouse District of Evanston and Grosse Point Lighthouse National Landmark

Margery B. Perkins Award for Sensitive Addition/Alteration: 1225 Oak Ave.

Award for Proper Rehabilitation/Restoration: 2021/2029 Sheridan Road (Swift Hall/Cresap Laboratory)

2601 Sheridan Road (Grosse Point Lighthouse)

1970 Campus Drive (Deering Library)

Award for Innovative Solution in Preservation: 225 Greenwood Street (Dawes House, Evanston History Center) and 726 University Place (Chapin Hall)

Award for Sensitive Addition/Alteration: 1871 Orrington Avenue (Kappa Kappa Gamma) and 701 Forest Ave.

Jurors responsible for evaluating the projects were Phil Castillo, FAIA, executive vice president at JAHN; Jennifer Morris, AICP, senior technical director at AKRF, Inc.; and Sarosh Saher, AICP, senior planner with the City of Elgin.

More about each of the winners, photos from the awards program and a slideshow presentation can be found at