Left to right: Shirley Perez, executive director of Family Support Network based in Frankfort, Illinois; Representative Robyn Gabel of Evanston; Tony Paulauski, executive director of The Arc based in Frankfort, Ill.; and Ann Sickon, executive director of Center for Independent Futures. Submitted photo

Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

The Arc of Illinois has awarded its Legislator of the Year Award to Representative Robyn Gabel for her “outstanding leadership on behalf of infants, children and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities.”

Rep. Gabel chairs the House Human Services Committee and is the Vice-Chair of the House Appropriations-Human Services Committee. She has sponsored many bills that benefit persons with disabilities, including two Special Education bills, HB 1288 and HB 1446, both signed into law. 

“Representative Gabel is always there for us when we need assistance in the legislative process and has been extremely articulate in the debates in committee and in the House of Representatives,” stated Brian Rubin, president of The Arc of Illinois. “She is a true champion for people with disabilities and has led the charge to ensure that people with disabilities have the opportunity to live life to their full potential.”

“On a local level, Representative Gabel has been our legislative hero,” said Ann Sickon, Executive Director of Center for Independent Futures. “She is our go to person in the Capital,” she added.

“I am honored that The Arc has selected me for their Legislator of the Year Award. The Arc is a strong advocate for individuals with disabilities and I appreciate working with them,” said Rep. Gabel. She received the award at a ceremony on June 11 at Center for Independent Futures.