Twenty-one seniors from Evanston Township High School have been named semifinalists for the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program.

 The ETHS semifinalists are Benedict Q. Brady, Luke T. Calian, Evan M. Carter, Emma F. Chanen, Abigail R. Conier, Benjamin A. Founy, Ezra C. Garfield, Elijah A. Goering, Conrad E. Gordon, Noah J. Kanter, Rachel S. Kornbluh, Justin Liao, Emma H. Maxwell, Caroline A. McCance, Henry McDonald, John C. Muyres, Alyssa J. Nichols, Mildred J. Rosen, Logan Z. Stuart, Harry K. Thornton and Nathan Umbanhowar.

 “Being recognized as a semifinalist is one of the highest recognitions a student in our nation can achieve. This is a notable accomplishment,” stated ETHS District 202 Superintendent Eric Witherspoon. “I am so proud of our student scholars, and so proud that we have such an impressive number of semifinalists, another reminder of the high caliber of academics here at ETHS.”

 Approximately 16,000 high school students from across the U.S. were named semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). According to NMSC, semifinalists and their schools must submit a detailed scholarship application that demonstrates an outstanding academic record throughout high school and endorsement by a high school official.

Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships worth in total about $33 million, to be offered next spring. To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition.