Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

Five members of the Northwestern faculty – Thomas Meade, Joseph Moskal, Gregory Olson, Andris Zoltners and Prabha Sinha – received Catalyst Awards at the fifth annual Mashup on Sept. 15. They founded companies based in Evanston that make a positive impact on individuals or industry

“These five individuals are representative of the diverse contributions to society made by Northwestern faculty,” President Morton Schapiro said.

“The Catalyst Award winners are helping to lead the way into what will be one of the most vibrant and exciting town-gown relationships in the country,” Mayor Elizabeth Tisdahl said. “We are not there yet, but that’s where we are headed.”

First Night Evanston provided live music, and guests enjoyed a lineup of other entertainers, including the ETHS cheerleading squad.

In addition to the Catalyst Award, the Corrine Passage Spirit of Evanston Award was presented to an Evanstonian, Dick Peach, who performed outstanding service in the past year. The award honors the memory of the late Ms. Passage of Pivot Point International who was one of the founders of the MashUp, which brings together civic businesses and community leaders.