Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

In addition to two binding referenda questions and three advisory questions on the ballot the following candidates will appear on the ballots of Evanston residents in the Nov. 4 election. State Senator Daniel Biss and State Representative Robyn Gabel are running unopposed for their seats in the 9th and 18th Districts. Portions of Evanston are in three different districts for State Representative, two of which have contested elections.

U.S Senator

Richard J. Durbin, Democrat

James D. ‘Jim’ Oberweis, Republican

Sharon Hansen, Libertarian

U.S. Representative, 9th District

Janice D. Schakowsky, Democrat

Susanne Atanus, Republican

Governor and Lieutenant                 Governor

Pat Quinn & Paul Vallas, Democrat

Bruce Rauner & Evelyn Sanguinetti,               Republican

Chad Grimm & Alexander                                  Cummings, Libertarian

Attorney General

Lisa Madigan, Democrat

Paul M. Schimpf, Republican

Ben Koyl, Libertarian

Secretary of State

Jesse White, Democrat

Michael Webster, Republican

Christopher Michel, Libertarian


Sheila Simon, Democrat

Judy Baar Topinka, Republican

Julie Fox, Libertarian


Michael W. Frerichs, Democrat

Tom Cross, Republican

Matthew Skopek, Libertarian

State Representative 14th District

Kelly M. Cassidy, Democrat

Denis Detzel, Republican

State Representative, 17th District

Laura Fine, Democrat

Kathleen Myalls, Republican

All elections for an office with Cook County are uncontested. All elections to fill a vacancy for appellate court or circuit court judge are uncontested. Voters, however, will be asked to vote on whether to retain many judges. Many bar associations have prepared recommendations on whether to retain individual judges. Voters can  go online to view the recommendations of their favorite bar association.