Michael Corr, Steve Hagerty, Bill Logan and Paul Selden. Photo by Genie Lemieux, Evanston Photographic Studios

Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

The Evanston Chamber of Commerce’s 95th annual celebration saluted three Evanston leaders for their contributions to the Evanston community. Stephen Hagerty was named Businessperson of the Year, Bill Logan was saluted as Community Leadership Person of the Year and Paul Selden, retiring director of Connections for the Homeless, was selected as Public Service/Non Profit Person of the Year.

Nearly 200 Chamber members and city officials including Mayor Elizabeth Tisdahl, City Manager Wally Bobkiewicz, Aldermen Ann Rainey, Jane Grover and Melissa Wynne were also on hand at the Hilton Orrington Hotel for an evening of appreciation, games, raffles, food and music in addition to the honoring of leaders.

Michael Corr, senior vice president of commercial banking at First Bank & Trust of Evanston, is the new president of the Evanston Chamber of Commerce. Other new officers of the Chamber include President-elect James Pepa, a director at Porte Brown LLC; Treasurer Ingrid Stafford, associate vice president/treasurer at Northwestern University, and past President Rebecca Berneck, founder of Officeheads.

New Board members include Alex Nabi, director of Sales & Marketing at the Hilton Orrington Hotel, and Malik Turley, owner of Hip Circle Studio and current president of the Main Street Merchants Association.

Elaine Kemna-Irish, executive director of the Evanston Chamber of Commerce, thanked all retiring members of the Board, including Ms. Berneck, Chris Turling and Patrick Hughes, for their dedication, ingenuity and loyalty to the Chamber.

Ms. Kemnna-Irish added, “The Evanston Chamber is fortunate to have distinguished members of the business community serve as volunteer on the Board of Directors. Each year I look forward to working with them and having the opportunity to benefit from the unique expertise they bring to the Board.”