Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

Honoring the achievement of African American students in Evanston schools, the African American Youth Achievement awards were presented on Feb. 27 at Evanston Township High School. The program was started in 1998 to pay tribute to African American youth who on a daily basis keep the visions and legacy of African-American pathfinders and pioneers alive through hard work and sacrifices.

In addition to the students, Denise Martin, retired principal of ETHS, was also honored with Living Legend Trailblazer award.

The awardees are, from ETHS Andrew Bempah, Genora Garcia, Lamont Davenport, Amari Johnson, Tiara Beard, Sidney Chuckas, Autumn Gates and Avente Price; from District 65, Vladimir Lauture, Liana Wallace, Erin Hunter, Michael Thuo, Jaydon Brown, Sydney Wyatt, Lauren Barnes,  Shawn Johnson, Ruta Baraki, Matthew Desir, Zaria Glover, Martin Truesdell, Taliya Martinez, Kamau Taylor, Alana Dordies, Robert Logan,  Aisha Atoyebi, Jacob Tovar Murray, Salam Erner, Michelle Ogungbemi, Devin Fox, Netania Pantry, Jamar McKenzie, Karel Pene, Antonio Herron, Taryn Robinson, Naomi Omeke, Stephen Warburton, Serena Brown and William Royster.

Photo by Genie Lemieux Evanston Photographic Studios