Graduates in picture are, front row from left: Christopher Garcia, Judy Freitag, Socorro Clarke, Elena Garcia Ansani, Kelly Schiff, Sandy Palfrey, Leslie Lane-Palmer, Dorothy Dare and Melissa Polivka. Back row from left: Kyle Lauterhahn, Lee Cabot, Sandra McZier, Emmanuel Patino Gomez, Michael Schiff, Noah Seidenberg and Adrian Willoughby. Not pictured: Edita Cosnotti, Sally Rutherford, Candice Shakur.

On June 8, City Council recognized the first class of the City’s community ambassadors program.  The program aims to educate participants about “all things Evanston,” allowing them to make a positive impact in the community.

Participants will receive training from the City and will then have the opportunity to become directly involved with the community by engaging with residents and visitors, and participating in projects that will make a difference in Evanston, such as serving as a point of contact at public and community events on behalf of the City; promoting Evanston as a great place to live, work and visit; volunteering at local events, including festivals, tourism activities and programs; and assisting with managing projects based upon their strengths, skills, experience and availability.