Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

Local business owners, property owners or residents in the Main Street Evanston and Chicago/Dempster Shopping Districts are invited to nominate, elect, and establish a Special Service Area (SSA) Board of Directors for businesses in southeast Evanston. There will be six open board seats, including two business and property owners from the Main Street area, located south of Greenleaf Street; two from the Dempster Street area, located north of Greenleaf Street; one at-large member from either area; and one seat for a resident of the larger district area.  

The SSA will establish a tax, no more than 0.45%, on property within the district. Funds from this levy will be deposited in an account that the SSA Board of Directors will use to fund activities such as beautification, marketing and advertising, special events, holiday decorations, and other items and activities that will support the business districts. For more information on the SSA, please visit

Nominations are due by 5 p.m. on Monday, August 24, 2015. All nominations must include two letters of support from non-related individuals (i.e., a tenant cannot nominate his/her landlord, a business partner cannot nominate his/her business partner, etc.), a short bio of the nominee, identification of the nominee’s stakeholder relationship to the SSA, and the nominee’s contact information. Letters of support should articulate why that candidate would make a good member of the SSA Board of Directors and how the larger business district would benefit from his/her involvement. Nominations can be submitted online at, in person at the Chicago Ave./Main St. (CAMS) Branch Library, located at 900 Chicago Ave., or via postal mail to Cindy Plante, City of Evanston, 2100 Ridge Avenue, Room 3600, Evanston, IL 60201.  

Please note: Each member will serve on the board for three years, with the exception of the at-large member. The elected at-large member will only serve a two-year term.   

After the nomination deadline, a ballot containing the names of the nominees meeting qualifications will be prepared and mailed to tenants and property owners within the district. Casted votes should be dropped off during regular business hours at the librarian’s desk at the CAMS Branch of the Evanston Public Library. All votes must be submitted by 5 p.m. on Monday, September 18, 2015. 

To learn more about the SSA, please contact Economic Development Specialist Cindy Plante at 847-448-8100 or email