From left, Lariza Fenner, President of the Illinois Art Therapy Association; Dr. Harriet Wadeson; recipient of the Myra Levick Award for Excellence in Art Therapy Joanne Ramseyer; and Registered Art Therapist and Educator. Submitted photo

The Illinois Art Therapy Association recently honored Dr. Harriet Wadeson with the Myra Levick Award for Excellence in Art Therapy at a celebration at The Mather, where Dr. Wadeson is a resident. Family, friends, professionals and former students were all in attendance to honor her.

This new prize was presented by Lariza Fenner, the president of the Illinois Art Therapy Association. Honoring important and innovative contributions to art therapy over many years, it is awarded by senior art therapists and the community of art therapy, with appreciation for Dr. Levick’s many contributions to the profession.

A pioneer art therapist, Dr. Wadeson began her career at the National Institutes of Health with Hana Kwiatkowska in 1961. She has directed art therapy education programs for more than 40 years, at the University of Houston, the University of Illinois and Northwestern University.