ETHS teacher Jenna Paplaczyk received an Award of Excellence from the Illinois State Board of Education’s 2015 "Those Who Excel" program. Submitted photo

Three staff members from Evanston Township High School received recognition from the Illinois State Board of Education’s Those Who Excel recognition program for 2015-16. 

In the category of Student Support Personnel, Mina Marien received an Award of Recognition. Ms. Marien, Technology Integration Specialist at ETHS, is a former classroom teacher at ETHS and works effectively with both teachers and students. She helps introduce new technology tools and training to ETHS teachers while also improving students’ learning, academic success, and life experience through the use of technology.  In addition to sharing her expertise with colleagues, she remains involved in student-centered projects such as the ChromeZone, a student-run technology support center.

Jenna Paplaczyk received an Award of Excellence in the Early Career Educator category. A teacher in the Science Department for four years, Ms. Paplaczyk models the importance of education by pursuing her own graduate studies, currently a Doctorate in Curriculum and Instruction. She uses the power of collaboration to expand her own teaching repertoire as well as to engage her students. She also serves as the assistant coach for the ETHS Girls’ Cross-Country team and is involved in many school initiatives, connecting with students and colleagues to contribute to a positive learning environment.

Michael Wylie received an Award of Merit in the Classroom Teacher category. For the past 14 years Mr. Wylie has instructed hundreds of ETHS students and built relationships that help students believe in themselves, take responsibility for their own learning, and master the content of his automotive technology courses. He stays on the cutting edge of technology in a field that is highly complex and challenging and ever-changing. Mr. Wylie is a strong advocate for students and his efforts extend beyond the classroom, such as sponsoring the E-Town Tuners Club.