Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

The Justin Wynn Fund’s 29th annual awards brunch was held on May 1, with more than 260 people in attandance, including Mayor Elizabeth Tisdahl, District 65 Superintendent Dr. Paul Goren and District 202 Superintendent Dr. Eric Witherspoon. Each spring, the Fund honors two fourth-grade students from each of the 12 District 65 schools.  The 24 “Wynners” are selected by their teachers and administrators for demonstrating outstanding leadership, and citizenship.

The 2016 Wynners are Maurice Frischer and Kara Taylor – Bessie Rhodes; Isaac Anthony and Xiadany Tamayo – Dawes; Matthew Clemson and Theodore Kayaian – Dewey; Audelle Ebanks and Jacques Philippe – King Arts; Hazel Hayes and Marlon Smith – Kingsley; Dunya Gojakovic and Rocco Piacenti – Lincoln; Serik Hammond and Tiana Harmon – Lincolnwood; Adrianna Capiz and Dehvyn Shaw – Oakton; Junseo Hong and Samhita Prabhu – Orrington; Gabrielle Burnett and Nevaeh Marshall – Walker; Melisa Gonzalez and Elisa Hernandez – Washington; and Olivia Bahrmasel and Saya Patel – Willard.

The Justin Wynn Fund was established in 1987 in loving memory of Justin Michael Wynn, who died in a swimming accident when he was 9 years old.  From this tragedy, the Wynn family and friends founded The Justin Wynn Fund and later the Justin Wynn Leadership Academy, with the mission to celebrate and nurture youth leaders by helping them develop a deep sense of self and responsibility for improving our community.