Seth Paternostro

Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

 This year’s National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners include two seniors from Evanston Township High School. Adrian Lafont Mueller and Seth Paternostro are among 2,500 Merit Scholar designees who were chosen from more than 15,000 Finalists in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship Program.

According to the National Merit Scholarship Corpration (NMSC), the National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the Finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.
NMSC selectors evaluate a variety of information: the Finalist’s academic record, information about the school’s curricula and grading system, two sets of test scores, the high school official’s written recommendation, information about the student’s activities and leadership, and the Finalist’s own essay.

 This year’s competition for National Merit Scholarships began in October 2014 when more than 1.5 million juniors in approximately 22,000 high schools took the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants.