The Paul Janicki Architects received the 2016 Perkins Award for the most outstanding historic preservation project of the year. The Stone Terrace, a luxury bed & breakfast opened in January.

 The City of Evanston has awarded Paul Janicki Architects its highest building preservation honor – the 2016 Margery B. Perkins Award – for the rehabilitation and restoration of Stone Terrace Bed & Breakfast, which opened in January.

“The Perkins Award recognizes the most outstanding historic preservation project of a given year,” said Carlos Ruiz, City of Evanston Preservation Coordinator. Stone Terrace is owned by Jennifer Pritzker, Dawn Overend, and Tom and Sue Zipprich. The Stone Terrace re-opened as a fully functioning luxury bed & breakfast in January 2016.

Stone Terrace was originally built in 1883 as a Queen Anne Victorian residence and served as a single-family home for well over a century. It was re-imagined in 1910 as a Tudor-revival style house by the renowned Evanston architectural firm Mayo and Mayo. The property was purchased in 2012, with the goal to revive the historic home as a cultural and community asset in Evanston’s historic district.

Paul Janicki of Paul Janicki Architects, who designed the home and new carriage house, said the challenge with the project was not only the painstaking restoration of the architecture to its original grandeur, but also adapting the building for a new use while maintaining the architectural integrity. For example, the carriage house was carefully designed from the ground up to be a sympathetic companion to the main house.

The 2016 Evanston Preservation & Design Awards judges were Aric Lasher, FAIA, Director of Design for Hammond Beeby Rupert Ainge; Diana Melichar AIA, President of Melichar Architects; and Anne Sullivan FAIA, John H. Bryan Chair in Historic Preservation, SAIC Professor. Jurors said the Stone Terrace rehabilitation/restoration “represents exemplary care in retention and duplication of character and defining elements,” and “a beautiful project and highly deserving of the Margery B. Perkins Award.”