The Cook County Suburban Caucus has called a meeting to deliberate on the board vacancies for three suburban RTA District Commissioners on September 14th at 2:00PM.  Committee members will hear from prospective candidates who have submitted resumes for consideration.

The RTA Board of Directors is a 16-member group of professionals governing the activities and future initiatives of the RTA. For diverse perspectives, 15 directors are appointed from within the six-county region: 5 from the Mayor of the City of Chicago; 4 by the suburban members of the Cook County Board; 1 by the President of the Cook County Board; and 5 by the Chairman, 1 from each county of DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Will. The Chairman of the Board, its 16th member, is elected by at least 11 of the 15 appointed members, with at least 2 affirmative votes from the directors who reside in the counties of DuPage, Lake, Will, Kane, or McHenry.

Interested candidates who live in suburban Cook County should present their names and qualifications by 5:00PM on September 9, 2016.  Each candidate shall present a detailed statement of their transit experience, work history, and a statement of why they want to be on the RTA board.  Resumes and applications shall be submitted to the Secretary to the Cook County Board of Commissioners electronically at   All submissions shall be available to the General Public for review.  After receiving interested candidates information, the candidate will be required to fill out an application that will be sent to them and will be subjected to a background check. 

The 16-member RTA Board of Directors made up of members representing the six-county Chicago metropolitan area, generally meets once a month to discuss various matters such as Capital Oversight, Audit & Finance, Real Estate & Contract Management and Employment Practices.