The City of Evanston has announced the 2016 nominees for the Mayor’s Award for the Arts, which honors an individual and an organization that have had a positive and significant impact on the arts in Evanston.

The 2016 nominees for the Mayor’s Award for the Arts are:

Gary Geiger, director of the Evanston Children’s Choir
Mike O’Mara, director of the etc. Music School
Harvey Pranian, artist and founder of YEA!
Indira Johnson, Evanston artist
Julie Cowan, Evanston artist and founder of Artruck

Mudlark Theater
Evanston Symphony Orchestra
Evanston Children’s Choir
2nd Act Players
Foster Dance Studios

Mayor Tisdahl will announce the award winners for the final time during her tenure as Mayor at the annual “A Bright Night for the Arts” event on Thursday, October 6, 6 p.m. to 9 p.m., at the Rotary International Building, 3rd Floor Atrium and Auditorium, 1560 Sherman Ave. Tickets are available for $25 at

In addition to the award announcements, the evening will feature tasty bites and beverages, three “Bright Spot” presentations featuring innovative arts projects in Evanston, a tribute to Mayor Tisdahl for her contribution to the arts, and a brief look at the past year in the arts in Evanston.

For more information, contact Jennifer Lasik at or 847-859-7835.