The positions of mayor, City Clerk, and all aldermanic seats will be open in the April 2017 election. In the school districts a total of eight positions will be open.

The Cook County Clerk’s office has created the free Running for Office Starter Kit to allow suburban Cook County residents to obtain the necessary information and documentation to complete the process of running for office.

City Elections

With the announcement that Mayor Elizabeth Tisdahl will not seek re-election, three people have declared their candidacy for mayor: Sixth Ward Alderman Mark Tendam, Ninth Ward Alderman Brian Miller, and local businessman and past Chamber of Commerce President Steve Hagerty.

To run for a City office, a candidate must collect the number of signatures that represents 1% of the number of voters who cast ballots in the prior election for that office. That is, a candidate for alderman must collect the number of signatures that represents 1% of the number of voters in the last aldermanic campaign in that ward. Since the mayoral campaign is Citywide, mayoral candidates must collect signatures that represent 1% of the number of voters who voted for mayor.

The City Clerk’s office no longer supplies candidates’ election packages; candidates are responsible for obtaining those materials on their own.

Candidates could begin circulating petitions after Sept. 20. Petitions must be filed with the City Clerk, 2100 Ridge Ave., between Dec. 12 and 19. The election is April 4, 2017.  Dec. 27 is the last day to file objections to nominating petitions. A lottery for ballot positions will be conducted no later than Dec. 28.

Write-in candidates must file a notarized “Declaration of Intent to be a Write-In Candidate” (SBE Form P-1F) no later than 61 days prior to the election, that is, Feb. 2, 2017.

School Board Elections

The Cook County Clerk’s Office has the responsibility of overseeing the elections of the District 65 and District 202 School Boards. 

At School District 65, five positions will be open. Four seats will have a four-year term, and one seat will have a two-year unexpired term. Candidates running for the seat with a two-year unexpired term must specify that they are running for this position on their P-7 petition.

Voters will also elect a total of three people to the District 202 School Board, each of which will have a four-year term. Board member Gretchen Livingston has announced that she will seek another term. Doug Holt has announced that he will not seek re-election.

The time to circulate nominating petitions has already started. On Dec. 12,  candidates may begin to file their original nominating petitions, statement of candidacy, and receipt of filing of Statement of Economic Interests, in the appropriate office.  Names are placed on the ballot in the order in which the nominating papers are received. A lottery is held for the first and for the last spots if multiple candidates’ papers are filed simultaneously in the first and last hours of the filing period.

All papers must be filed by Dec. 19.

Mary Gavin

Mary Gavin is the founder of the Evanston RoundTable. After 23 years as its publisher and manager, she helped transition the RoundTable to nonprofit status in 2021. She continues to write, edit, mentor...