Left to right:  Dr. Paul Goren, Mary Claire D’Arrizo, Jordan Wallace, Ben Easington, and Dr. Eric Witherspoon. Photo by Melissa Messinger, District 65

The Kiwanis Club of Evanston recently honored Dr. Paul Goren, Superintendent of District 65, and Dr. Eric Witherspoon, Superintendent of District 202, as recipients of the Hixson Award.  The Hixson Award  is given to individuals who have contributed outstanding service to the club and/or the community in which they live.  Dr. Goren and Dr. Witherspoon join former mayors Jay Lytle and Lorraine Morton as well as current mayor Elizabeth Tisdahl and Northwestern president Morton Schapiro as Hixson award winners.

On the same day, the club recognized three student/athletes from ETHS for their endeavors in athletics, academics, and community service.  They include Mary Claire D’Arrizo, swimming; Jordan Wallace, golf and volleyball; and Ben Easington, football and track and field.

Since the Ted Van Zelst awards were established in 2007, more than 200 students have received the award for outstanding efforts in athletics, fine arts, and community service.

“Our partnership with both districts has been rewarding for our members as well,” said Jim Wolinski, President of the club.  “Perhaps the best part of the relationship has been our ability to observe the results of the guidance and care that the students receive throughout their education in Evanston.”